Powerball is 1.5 billion


My parents always play the lottery. They occasionally remind me to purchase a Powerball ticket.

“You can’t win if you don’t play,” my dad said.

The Powerball is now 1.5 billion or $930 million before taxes. Billboards can only display $999 million.

img_6963
I did the math and couldn’t come to terms with taking a lump sum over taking the prize winning of $930 million over a 30 year period before taxes.

Now aside from the taxes you’ll pay I came up with $31,000,000 million every year for 30 years. That comes up to $2,583,333.33 each month or $7,077.62 everyday. That’s a lot of Starbucks.

It’s difficult to say what I’d do with the money if I am lucky enough to win. I know that I won’t do anything immediate. I know that I won’t buy a Land Rover or something crazy like a food truck. I know myself and the sad truth is my life won’t change much except that I’d probably have the satisfaction of being able to travel. 

It’s a good thing I have a small close family that I’ll be able to take care of for sure. 

For now I’ll take a chance and play. Then wait to see if I win before dreaming of how much coffee I can buy. 
Update 

Winning numbers are, 4-8-19-27-34, sadly I didn’t win. 

Leave a Reply

